Quick Access


The following committees have vacant seats. Sault Tribe members interested in filling these vacancies should submit one letter of intent and three letters of recommendation from other members to Joanne Carr or Linda Grossett, 523 Ashmun St., Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783. Call 906‑635‑6050 with any questions.

Anishinaabe Cultural Committee - six vacancies –three males (4-year term), three female (4-year term)
Child Welfare Committee - four vacancies (4-year term)
Election Committee - nine vacancies (4-year term)
Higher Education Committee - two vacancies (4-year term)
Health Board - five vacancies (4-year term)
Housing Committee - Unit I-one vacancy (4 year term) Unit IV-one vacancy (4 year term)
Special Needs/Enrollment Committee - six vacancies (2-year term)

Elder Advisory Committee
Unit I - Sault (4-year term), one regular vacancy
Unit II - Hessel (4-year term), one alternate vacancy
Unit II - Naubinway (4-year term), one regular, one alternate
Unit II - Newberry (4-year term), one alternate
Unit III - St. Ignace (4-year term), one alternate vacancy
Unit IV - Escanaba (4 year-term) one regular
Unit V - Munising (4-year term), one regular vacancy, one alternate vacancy
Unit V - Marquette (4-year term), one alternate vacancy

Elder Subcommittee
Unit I - Sault (4-year term), one regular vacancy
Unit ll - Hessel (4-year term), one regular seat vacancies, one alternate seat vacancies
Unit II - Naubinway (4-year term), three regular seat vacancies, two alternate seat vacancies
Unit IV - Escanaba (4-year term), two regular seat vacancies
Unit IV - Manistique (4-year term), one regular seat vacancy 
Unit V - Munising (4-year term), three regular seat vacancies
Unit V - Marquette (4-year term), two regular seat vacancy, one alternate seat vacancy

© 2019 - Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians. All Rights Reserved.

Photo by Ken Bosma / CC BY