

For Immediate Release June 28, 2012

Michelle Bouschor

906-440-7340

SAULT STE. MARIE, Mich. – The Sault Tribe Election Committee has announced unofficial results for this year's tribal board election. Voters selected three candidates for representative in Unit 1, and one candidate in Unit 2 and Unit 3 and one candidate for Tribal Chairman. The results are listed in alphabetical order and incumbents are marked with an asterisk.

Contact:

Sault Tribe Announces Election Results

Chairman (top one receives chairman seat)

Joe Eitrem – 3,224 Aaron Payment – 4,150

Unit One (top three receive board seat):

Cathy Abramson* - 2,004 Bernard Bouschor* - 1,311 DJ Hoffman - 1,534 Dennis McKelvie - 1,589 Jennifer McLeod - 1,576 Christine McPherson - 1,433

Unit Two (top one receives board seat):

William Baker – 399 Lana Causley* - 593

Unit Three (top one receives board seat):

Patrick Rickley* - 739 Bridgett Sorenson – 878

Unit Four (top one receives board seat):

Tom Miller* - 411 Darcy Morrow – 475

Any contest regarding the vote count for the 2012 general election must be received by July 2, 2012. Results will be certified and deemed official at the next board of directors meeting or within seven days of all contests being resolved.

For this election, 14,674 ballots were sent to Tribal Members.

The tribe's seven-county service area is divided into five election units encompassing Mackinac, Chippewa, Luce, Delta, Alger, Schoolcraft, and Marquette counties.

The term of all representatives is four years. Elections for representatives from Unit 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 will be held in 2014.