

For Immediate Release May 24, 2012

Contact:

Michelle Bouschor 906-440-7340

## **Sault Tribe Announces Unofficial Primary Election Results**

SAULT STE. MARIE, Mich. – The Sault Tribe Election Committee has announced unofficial primary results for this year's tribal board election. The primary election has narrowed the ballot to six candidates running for representative in Unit 1, and two candidates running for Unit 3.

The candidates in bold will be listed on the 2012 tribal ballot. They are listed in alphabetical order with the incumbents' names in italics. The number of votes is listed in parentheses next to the candidate's name.

Unit 1 — *Cathy Abramson* (1298), *Bernard Bouschor* (1066), Nichole Causley (459), Betty Freiheit (357), **DJ Hoffman** (885), David Houghton (421), **Dennis McKelvie** (933), Russell McKerchie Jr. (559), Jennifer McLeod (631), **Christine McPherson** (689), Shirley Van Alstine (631). There are three open seats in this unit.

Unit 3 — James Everson (283), Wanda Garries (94), Linda Marshall (181), *Patrick Rickley* (471), **Bridgett Sorenson** (380). There is one open seat in this unit.

A hand recount in Unit 1 will take place next week because of a tie for the sixth spot available on the ballot. Both Jennifer McLeod and Shirley Van Alstine garnered 631 votes.

Any contest regarding the vote count for the primary election must be received by May 29. Results will be certified and deemed official at the next board of directors meeting or within seven days of all contests being resolved. Following the primary

election, general election ballots will be mailed to voters on June 6, with the official vote count on June 28.

In addition to candidates listed above, the following candidates will be on the general election ballot and did not need a primary vote.

Chairman — Joe Eitrem, Aaron Payment Unit 2 — William Baker, *Lana Causley* 

Unit 4 — Tom Miller, Darcy Morrow

All Board members serve four-year terms. The next tribal board elections will be held in 2014. These results are the unofficial results of the primary election for Units 1 and 3.