Quick Access

SAULT STE. MARIE, Mich. —Unofficial results are in for the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians Primary Election for the Sault Tribe Board of Directors. All incumbents running for office in this election will move forward in the General Election. From a field of four in the chairperson's race, two candidates will move forward to the General Election, and they will be incumbent Aaron A. Payment with 3,193 votes and Unit 3 Director Keith Massaway with 2,073 votes.

The deadline for contests related to the vote count is May 23. There are five voting units across the Sault Tribe's seven-county service area in Michigan's Eastern Upper Peninsula for a total of 10 board seats. The chairperson is elected by all the tribe's registered voters. The unit directors' four-year terms are staggered so that approximately half the board seats are up for election every two years.

There were 15 candidates vying for three Unit 1 seats and only six will progress to the General Election. Unit 1 Director Cathy Abramson announced her retirement, opening a seat for a new director. Incumbents Dennis McKelvie and Jennifer McLeod Tyson move forward with 965 and 683 votes respectively, along with Michael McKerchie with 912 votes, Angeline Boulley with 663, Betty Freiheit, 645, and Nichole Causley with 628 votes.

Unit 2 incumbent Lana Causley was unopposed and is deemed elected.

In Unit 3, incumbent Bridgett Sorenson, with 854 votes, opposes Ilene Moses, who garnered 322 votes.

In Unit 4, incumbent Darcy Morrow (405 votes) will face Krystal Goudreau (210 votes) in the general election.

In Unit 5, Anita Nelson with 183 votes will face Charles Matson, who had 179 votes. Unit 5 is a special advisory election to replace removed director, Rita Glyptis, for the remainder of her term, which expires in 2018.

General Election Day is June 23. Tribal members can read general election candidates' platforms in Win Awenen Nisitotung's upcoming issue, available online May 27 and in mailboxes June 3. Ballots will be mailed to Sault Tribe registered voters June 1.

Unofficial results in alphabetical order are:

Charles Forgrave, 262
Keith Massaway, 2073
Thomas Miller, 763
Aaron A. Payment, 3193

Unit 1 (Sault Ste. Marie area)
Angeline Boulley, 663
Nichole Causley, 628
Charles Cook Sr., 411
Angela Declue, 254
Betty Freiheit, 645
Janice Frye, 321
Samuel Gardner Jr., 344
Janet Liedel, 270
Jennifer McLeod Tyson, 683
Michael McKerchie, 912
Dennis McKelvie, 965
George Parish, 526
Maureen "Sue" Pavlat, 318
Helen Wilkins, 280
Barbara Willis, 422

Unit 2 (Hessel area)
Lana Causley was unopposed.

Unit 3 (St. Ignace area)
Ilene Moses, 322
Bridgett Sorenson, 854
Bonnie Woodford Culfa, 197

Unit 4 (Manistique area)
Krystal Goudreau, 210
Darcy Morrow, 405
Gerald Winberg Sr., 166

Unit 5 (Munising area)
Tyler LaPlaunt, 80
Charles Matson Sr. 179
Anita Nelson, 183
Boyd Snyder, 78

© 2020 - Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians. All Rights Reserved.

Photo by Ken Bosma / CC BY